About Us

Society History

In 1984, members of Brier Island Historical Society met with members of the Tiverton Board of Trade to found Islands Historical Society and build Islands Museum on Long Island.

In 1986, a building was constructed to house both the Visitor Information Centre and Islands Museum. The two organizations, Tiverton Board of Trade and Islands Historical Society worked together to provide information about the varied attractions on Long and Brier Islands and the rich history of the place and its people.

In 2003, archival materials were moved to Freeport, where they could be held in a climate controlled atmosphere in the Freeport Community Development Association's building..

 2013 saw both the Islands' Museum and Archives moved from their locations in Tiverton and Freeport to the Lent House, a building with a 130 year history. This combination of facilities allowed the Society to offer visitors the ability of seeing all the wonderful items which make up the stories of our past  in one place, as well as cut down on costs.  Islands Archives is available to the public on a year round basis.


Volunteers Wanted!

Contact us to find out how you can help to preserve island history.

islandshistorical@gmail.com

IHS Executive

Wanda Christensen

President / Volunteer Curator

Loretta Crocker

Secretary

Joanne Whitenect

Treasurer

Dorothy Outhouse

Volunteer Archivist

Area History

Initially discovered by Champlain in 1604, Long and Brier Islands were a frequent stopping point and fishing grounds for the Mi’kmaq Indians in their travels between Maine and Nova Scotia. Evidence of shell middens and native tools dating back over 250 years has been found throughout the islands. Initial Brier Island settlers were fishermen from the New England States who came here to access the rich fishing grounds. In 1783 a wave of Loyalists, refugees from the War of Independence in the newly formed United States, set down roots on these rocky shores and founded the villages of Petite Passage (now Tiverton), Central Grove and Freeport on Long Island.